Some people think that a sense of competition should be encouraged in children. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful alduts. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think competition over cooperation enables children to become more useful adults. I feel that while both claims have some merit, and reflect the dichotomy of these fundamental concepts in the development of children, competition nurtures a higher degree of skill and aptitude and encourages children to constantly aim higher, giving rise to competent adults.

Cooperation is often painted as a characteristic trait of human beings that has enabled us to build advanced civilizations and expand the horizons of what we as a race could accomplish. Of course, our ability to communicate our thoughts and pass down information has played a key role in our development, with information being preserved long enough for future generations to build upon, and communication enabling us to formulate and chart out complex plans and strategies in a combined effort rather than through the ruminations of one. Cooperation is paramount in the adult world and is essential for the survival of organizations. Owing to that, children are taught from a very young age to be team players, and to always let the group’s needs take precedence over their own. This ensures that as an adult, they will be able to maneuver a world that emphasizes organizational conformity over individual advancement. Cooperation forms the base of our very existence as a species and drives our advancement. And yet, cooperation has only ever served as a tool in our endeavours, with competition driving the essence of invention.

Competition between factions has constantly driven our species to achieve astonishing feats in an effort to gain the upper hand over one another. A stark example is that of the space race, a competition between two leading nations of the world, USA and The Soviet Union, resulted in incredible feat after feat–from the first artificial satellite in space to the first human on the moon. Competition has served as the chief advancer of our species ever since we evolved into societies from being hunter gatherers, and it continues to be so today. When I was young, my parents observed that my academic performance started to dwindle when I began to feel satisfied being one with the crowd. This trajectory changed when I started to notice the performance of some of my peers and tried to match their vigour. The sense of competition that sprouted within me propelled me to greater heights, more than I would’ve reached had I stayed content with where I was.

Looking back, it’s evident that these two concepts have been co-existent for the majority of our history, with one complementing the other in our efforts to evolve. But cooperation without competition results in stagnation. If one is satisfied with the homogeneity and harmony that’s achieved through cooperation, the true extent of what can be achieved will never be explored. And that is why competition is fundamental to children’s growth–it serves to not only foster creativity and drive, but also give a glimpse of what lies ahead if one puts in the effort, thus ensuring that their growth never ebbs and is always constant.