some people think that advertising has positive economic effects oyhers think it has negative social effects because it will who they are and what they have discuss both views and give your own opinion

The positive and negative effects of advertisements have always sparked fierce discussions, with the first group advocating for its economic benefits whereas the opposing side emphasizes unfavorable implications on society such as causing a dissatisfactory experience of people about their own lives. Although the economic advantages of ads are hard to underestimate, I agree that modern methods of advertising have affected us rather negatively.

Greater revenue is the most important benefit that advertisement campaigns can bring to companies. Through commercializing their products on TV, radio and the Internet, businesses have been attracting newer and newer groups of customers day by day. The higher demand there is for products and services, the larger income is generated by companies, which can create new opportunities to extend the business and provide employment facilities for the public. At the same time, the rate of unemployment might decline significantly as long-term consequence of increasing number of advertisements in the country, contributing to economic progress of a nation.

Critics of advertisements are mainly concerned about their social impact. Traditionally, regardless of its type, advertising tends to feature an idealized lifestyle, displaying a happy family or a successful celebrity and how a particular type of service or product – being advertised- is an essential component of their quality life. Those in front of the TV or watching a commercial video on social media immediately try to create a comparison of their own lives with the one in the ad inside their minds, not paying attention to the authenticity of the content. Such comparison process can be noticed when women watch a TV commercial about fashions and cosmetics depicting an ideal body shape and flawless skin of a perfect female. The continuity of this experience will surely cause people to feel lost and dissatisfied with themselves, which can lead to a dramatic reduction in their daily performance at work and studies.

I am also personally worried about how negatively advertising might affect our society. The trend of comparing life quality with the one created by advertising could impact children’s self-confidence. Most parents in Uzbekistan tend to complain about low level of self-assurance of their children, caused by social media ads and TV commercials. Celebrity endorsement is gaining popularity in Uzbekistan, with well-known actors and sportsmen recommending young people products and services which can be afforded only by wealthy individuals.This development damages to self-worth of children from lower income households and discourage them from working hard on themselves.

In conclusion, despite its economic advantages, I restate that advertisements could lower people’s satisfaction with their own lives, particularly children, by encouraging unrealistic comparisons.