Some people think that books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extend do you agree?

Books are perceived as having lost their importance and prevalence in contemporary societies, with people not viewing them as engaging sources of information and entertainment. I strongly agree with this perspective, because with technological advancements, people prefer to enhance their knowledge using the internet, and there are also many engrossing recreational pursuits that have replaced books.

Firstly, today, the internet is considered a strong source of information, which may considerably diminish the importance of books. Individuals prefer to choose the easiest way of accessing information they need, thus deciding to browse through the internet and receive desired information in a matter of seconds. Moreover, the cumbersome and massiveness of traditional books, and the tedious flipping process through physical books may discourage them from reading. In contrast, they can easily access any information needed just using their portable and lightweight smartphones.

Additionally, there are many more fascinating forms of entertainment than books, which people may choose during their free time. The more technological advances, the more engaging recreational activities become. In the past, people had fewer choices for their pastimes, thus becoming more inclined to reading books and spending a considerable amount of time doing so. However, now human beings are confronted with a vast range of hobbies favored by technology growth, being tempted away from reading. To illustrate, people may opt to allocate their spare time to playing online games, watching their favorite videos on YouTube, or even engaging in virtual-reality activities, hence diminishing the opportunities for reading.

In conclusion, although the importance and value of reading books cannot be overlooked, in my opinion, these precious sources of authentic information and healthy entertainment have faded in the shadow of the internet and modern technology. As technology provides individuals with much greater speed and user-friendliness, and numerous hobbies have emerged recently, people have a strong preference for engaging with the internet rather than books. I contend that implementing a balanced approach is a necessity to help preserve the culture of reading in modern societies.