Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned while others think people should be free to choose discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debates around whether dangerous sport should be banned or people are free to choose have been a contentious one. Although both thoughts hold merit, this essay will discuss the arguments for prohibiting this kind of sport and for encouraging people to participate in it freely before concluding that a regulated approach is essential.

Proponents of a ban on extreme sports argue that this can lead to an unacceptably high level of risk. Even if the organisers have managed events carefully and efficiently, they can not avoid risky situations during the activities. For example, in high-speed motor racing, this sport relies heavily on the racers’ skills, which means that if they can not control their speed, a fatal accident will possibly happen. Therefore, many athletes have to suffer from severe injuries ending their professional careers or causing death. From this viewpoint, no more recreational pursuit justifies the possibility of lifelong disability or death. Furthermore, not only do the athletes face the accidents but the spectators may also be affected. When accidents occur, individuals will be put in hazardous situations, creating public-safety concerns.

On the other hand, there are numerous reasons for allowing people to engage in sports, even if they are potentially dangerous. Chief among these is that the popularity of such sports can boost the economy. Many tourist attractions offer various sports, like mountain climbing or bungee jumping. When there are more tourists attracted by these activities, the local region can both improve its tourism and income. In many mountain-climbing towns, for instance, they rely significantly on the number of people seeking an adventure experience through these sports. Moreover, when governments permit operating such activities, there will be a push for safety innovations. As a result, technological aspects become enhanced, thus creating more methods to ensure the quality of safety of both the athletes and the tourists, such as safer helmets with superior materials to withstand severe impacts.

In conclusion, I believe that extreme sports should not be strictly prohibited but should be regulated with some safety standards instead. Allowing these activities can contribute significantly to the economy of certain regions and support organisers to innovate safer equipment for individuals.