Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned while others think people should be free to choose discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate surrounding extreme sports has garnered considerable attention, sparking divergent opinions about the laws on these sports. While some contend that there should be a ban on high-risk sports, others assert that individuals are free to make a choice. This essay will explore both perspectives before arguing a stance that promotes the enactment of stringent regulations rather than an outright ban.

On the one hand, proponents of banning dangerous sports often emphasize the potential of significant risks or severe injuries, which can exert profound effects on not only participants but also their families. Because extreme sports such as base jumping or free solo climbing have very little margin for error, where a single mistake or malfunction of equipment can be immediately fatal, the rate of accidents is extremely high and the results can be detrimental, leading to long-term injuries, mental trauma or even disability. Therefore, attendees are unlikely to continue their daily routine or maintain their occupation at the workplace, severely deteriorating their living conditions and overall well-being. Moreover, people, who have their family members suffering from the unwilling consequences of adventurous sports, also have to take responsibility for looking after them, contributing to more burdens and stresses in life.

On the other hand, the opposing camp highlights the personal autonomy and psychological benefits. Individuals have their own rights to make a decision about their lives, including those accepting to involve risk. Furthermore, experiencing extreme sports can help people to step out of their comfort zone, gain unique experience and attain mental satisfaction. Most importantly, prohibiting dangerous sports due to their risks is a form of paternalism. If society accepts risks such as smoking or drinking alcohol, putting a ban on specific sports because they are risky is seen as an absolutely arbitrary restriction from freedom. For these reasons, I believe that high-risk sports should not be banned, however, it is imperative that strict rules and actions should be taken to minimize their risks.

Dangerous sports require absolute accuracy, therefore, the governments should take drastic steps to prevent illegal extreme sport competitions and periodically scrutinize the quality of equipment to guarantee the safety and minimize risks. Moreover, sport event administrators should limit the eligible age because young or impressionable people may not fully be aware of the risks when participating and only allow professionals to take part in some sports which demand specialized knowledge, abundant experiences, and intensive training. Ultimately, the participants themselves should also accept and be responsible for the probability of danger while taking these sports.

In conclusion, while dangerous sports can result in significant consequences, exerting negative effects on participants and their family members, the values of them are undeniable, including personal autonomy and emotional advantages, contributing to the allowance of them rather than a ban.