Some people think that developing a successful career is more important than spending time with family and friends, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As society develops, many people prioritize their time for building a successful career over spending time for their families, while others argue with this perspective. However, I firmly believe that maintaining family and private connections is crucial, as neglecting them can harm one’s quality of life and mental health.

On the one hand, individuals prioritize their career over their private relationships due to the numerous career opportunities available. By setting aside any concerns about their private lives, people can fully focus on their work, leading to rapid career development. They can sacrifice their time, money, and their mind to pursuit their dream. Based on those scarifications, they can develop their career and wealth rapidly, which may be used to compensate for what they have lost. For example, employees who work abroad can broaden their horizons and strengthen their income to get an appropriate job, which can be used to aid their family in their hometown.

Nevertheless, the drawbacks of prioritizing career over personal relationships can outweigh the advantages, as it can lead to a decline in the quality of one’s private life. Specifically, any relationship requires multiple commitments such as communication, sympathy, and caring continuously to build a solid and long-term foundation. If those requirements are not satisfied, these relationships will be weakened or even broken after a long period of carelessness. In addition, a person without any valuable and healthy relationship in their life may be isolated and lonely. That solitude can lead to multiple mental disorders such as stress, depression or suicide. For instance, people who sign a long work contract in another country instead of their motherland may not be able to take care of their old parents when they encounter health issues. Therefore, their father and mother may pass away before that contract is complete, leading to a sorrow ending and feeling for their child’s.

To sum up, while prioritizing work is reasonable because it can aid people to achieve their goals more quickly, the potential loss of personal relationships and the risk of mental health issues may outweigh these benefits.