Some people think that government should provide people with free healthcare. Others, however, believe that people should pay for their own healthcare. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people argued that the government should help all the citizens to pay their fee of healthcare fees, meanwhile, some argue that individuals should pay for their own medical fees. As a citizen who has a mental health problem, I strongly believe that the government should provide free healthcare for citizens. This essay will explain why the government providing free healthcare is important to citizens.

First of all, statistics reveal that many people who have a mental health problem are usually poor. Imagine, if someone who has a mental problem and has no money to find a doctor, what will happen to their future? They might not be able to find a job, they might not be able to have a family, and they might not be able to do their daily routines. These effects show how having a mental health problem will affect someone’s life. On top of this, since they don’t have a job, it shows how they have no income and no money to find a doctor. This is a toxic cycle, from having a mental health problem, to being unable to find a doctor because of a lack of money, to no income, and back to the issue of being unable to find a doctor. This cycle can’t be broken if the government doesn’t provide them a free healthcare.

Moreover, as a citizen who lives in a country where the government provides medical care for all citizens, I proudly say that this helps to change our society and the people’s lives. As the one who has a mental health issue, I truly understand the desire to have a doctor and the importance of having a doctor. I was not raised in a wealthy family; all my dad and my brother, and I have mental issues, which makes our family even harder to afford a doctor. Before our government made the policy of having free healthcare for all citizens, our family had been through a really tough time. My brother and I have ADHD, which means neither of us can sit still and be noisy all the time. My father has an anger issue, which he get mad easily, especially when my brother and I are fighting. All this pressure has been pushed onto my mother’s shoulders, since she is the only one who is healthy. My mother went for 15 hours a day; however, this didn’t change a lot, and we are still unable to afford a doctor. All these problems have been solved once the government announced that it would provide free healthcare for all citizens. We are all finally able to find a doctor, and my mother can finally take a rest after all the pressure. This explains how free healthcare can change a family’s life.

In conclusion, statistics also show that many people who have a mental health issue are unable to afford a doctor. Therefore, providing free healthcare for citizens helps them to break the toxic cycle. My own experience highlights the importance of having free healthcare for an impoverished family and strengthens my opinion.