Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While many believe that organizing a global sport events has several benefits for the country, while others argue that it does not contribute to development of the country. It is so beneficial for different sectors of the country such as economy, tourism, infrastructure development, and global exposure.

First of all, when sports matches are held in the country, the infrastructure of some places is changed and amenities are created for the guests. This facilitates the sharing of culture, values, connections and expertise, bringing significant cultural and economic upside potential to people and sport attending the events and the host city itself. Additionally, it leads to the creation of many jobs in the country.

A significant benefit is the long-term investment which comes from preparing for a major event. The city/country will have a legacy of improved sporting venues. Also, cities will usually have to invest in infrastructure and transport to cater for an influx of tourists. For example, there has been significant investment in public transport projects around London. This will leave a lasting legacy for residents of London, especially East London. From the 2012 London Olympics, the east of London has benefited from improved public transport. The several years of planning and investment will help create jobs and can revitalise depressed cities. This was an important claim of the London Olympics, choosing a site in East London, which at the time was relatively depressed. It is estimated the London Olympics 2012, will create 8,000 full-time jobs and lead to a boost in economic output of close to £2bn

In summary, international sports events offer a platform for unity, development, and celebration of human potential.