Some people think that it is the responsibility of individuals to reduce environmental pollution, while others believe that governments and large companies should take the lead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is commonly argued that people must protect the environment themselves, while the others believe that the authorities and big firms have to be responsible for it. While both views offer merit, I firmly agree with the former idea.

On the one hand, it is reasonable for large corporations and governments to take environmental responsibilities. First, they have great prestige and influences on society which allow them to raise residents’ awareness effectively. To be more specific, unlike the individuals, governments and big businesses have more financial and social capacities to support and lead environmental protection campaigns, which often cost a huge amount of money, time and effort, or tackle environmental issues by inviting and subsidizing scientists. Second, some areas lack of understanding consequences of destroying the environment due to the uncensored information and unpopularity of formal education in those places. Therefore, people in these areas often fall into delinquency, such as overharvesting or overusing agrichemicals, or fail to maintain cleanliness. In fact, this problem seems to be impossible to personally solve and it is the duty of major companies and governments to address using their reputations and abilities.

On the other hand, others, myself included, are convinced that people need to take independent environment action. The noticeable reason is that citizens play a key role in shaping the ecological maintenance. In reality, despite the funding awareness effort of the organisations, some people who do not want to follow the protection strategies can always find the way to ignore or break it. For example, some restaurants or companies continue to overuse detergents due to the profit they bring despite government ban. This example demonstrates that ultimate goal can only be accomplished through personal attempt. Furthermore, people must be responsible for their life rather than depending on the supports giving by the others. If people do not stay clean themselves, they do not solely harms their life but also their relatives’ lives. For instance, some people often burn trash in their yards, releasing great amount of hazardous compounds which cause respiratory problems. Burning these compounds in the public space can easily influence person nearby, especially children who are vulnerable to have health problems.

In conclusion, while some people think that government and major corporations should be accountable for conservation efforts thanks to their great abilities compared to the individuals, I completely believe that people should be responsible for it since it is for their personal benefits.