Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

The question of whether drivers should be mandated to take requalification tests every 5 years has been a topic of debate. Some believe such a new policy could uphold road safety and help drivers to polish their competency, whereas others argue it is neither pragmatically nor logistically judicious. This essay will dive into both of these perspectives before setting forth my own opinion.

On the one hand, implementation of recurrent reassessment tests for license holders can mitigate a number of critical issues on the roads. Even seasoned drivers can succumb to complacency and negligent approach while driving, such as failing to check blind spots or tailgating. This new policy could rectify such latent risks. Beyond habit correction, regular driving tests can support older-aged or medically deprived people with sharpening their motor skills as they have higher likelihood of undergoing cognitive decline or mental alertness. Hence, periodic testing system promises fewer cases of road accidents and prevention of hidden dangers among physically impaired individuals.

On the other hand, critics claim that obligatory license tests bring about more drawbacks than benefits. Firstly, it is proven by empirical scenarios that majority of road collisions derive from minority of motorists – usually high-risk, rule-breaking or uneducated drivers. Thus, I suggest, instead of disproportionately forcing every motorist to undergo recurrent tests, custom designed educational courses can be implemented to help at-risk individuals enhance their driving skills. In addition, such requalification processes that require millions of license holders to partake, can overwhelm the industry, burdening the whole infrastructure with its immense expenditures. From an individual standpoint, lower-class or financially struggling motorists might not be able to travel to the testing sites due to several reasons such as the lack of time or money. Therefore, ensuring that every single licensed individual retake the driving tests has proven practically challenging, if not impossible.

In conclusion, imperative testing systems which take place every 5 years might yield a handful of merits such as safeguarding the roads and traffic flow, while disadvantages include diluting individual circumstances and wearing out the whole traffic industry. It is only through specialized training initiatives for problematic cases that the prevention of traffic riskscan be effectively minimized.