Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweight the disadvantages?

A lot of individuals feel that big organizations and factories should relocate to regional areas outside of major city centers. I think it is beneficial for companies as they would save some money in regional areas and the city will face less traffic congestion.

Despite the disadvantages listed below, I believe it would be advantageous for organizations to shift from cities to regional areas. Firstly, this would help them save huge amounts of money. The rent paid for the space in the cities is far more than what is paid in the subsequent areas, consequently, they can invest this extra savings in parking and other facilities which will help them attract more talent. Secondly, it will help in reducing the pollution from the city as smoke and other waste coming out of factories will not be released directly into the city area, in addition, it will lead to less traffic in the main areas of the city as a lot of people travel by their private cars.

Admittedly, there are minor drawbacks to big companies and industries moving out of the cities. One problem is people residing in the city will not find it convenient and might look for other jobs where they don’t have to travel much. In other words, commuting to the non-urban areas is not as smooth as one expects due to the poor public transport. For instance, the frequency of buses is less in these areas compared to cities, instead of 10 minutes people might have to wait for 20 minutes and because of this, sometimes it gets very crowded and unpleasant. Furthermore, the frequency of transport drops even further during the non-peak hours, especially at night.

In conclusion, in spite of having a few downsides, I believe the upside of established companies and industries moving out of the city is far better. Companies can start their shuttle service which can resolve the problem of commuting to the work.