Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweight the disadvantages?

Certain factions of the population opine that major corporations should relocate to rural areas, so as to avoid the major towns and cities. Moving these companies to remote regions has several upsides because it lowers the cost of production and provides more space for the corporation to expand. However, there are several negative aspects of this tactic, notably the dearth of qualified workers in these regions and the relatively poor infrastructure.

Organizations that move to areas away from major cities benefit due to the lower operational costs, which improves the bottom line. These places provide cheaper landrates, and they also offer affordable rental units, compared to urban centers. If these industries move to these zones, then they are likely to reduce their production costs and increase their profitability. Another advantage is that they have sufficient space, due to the low population, to expand their operations. This allows organizations to expand their production and subsequently their profits; for example, Tesla has set up its production plant in Texas where it covers more than one square kilometer of land.

Despite the above, there are downsides to relocating to these remote areas, such as the lack of qualified personnel. Majority of residents prefer living in large cities due to the amenities available, meaning that the companies in far away regions might fail to attract the best talent, leading to a downturn in performance levels. Another disadvantage is the poor infrastructure in regional lands. Most of these places have network connectivity issues and poor accessibility. For instance, rural areas in Kenya have bad roads and network connectivity, which discourages major corporations from setting up.

In conclusion, while setting up in withdrawn regions might lower the manufacturing expenses and provide ample space for expansion for organizations, they should not ignore the lack of qualified manpower and the underdeveloped transport and network systems.