Some people think that job satisfaction is more important than job security, while some people think that they cannot always expect job satisfaction, a permanent job is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the increasing competition in the job market and a large number of individuals going unemployed, there have been varying opinions on the essential aspects of a job. Some people prefer job satisfaction over job security, while others argue the opposite. This essay will reflect on both of these viewpoints before concluding why the satisfaction argument is more valid.

Employees who choose job satisfaction do so because working in an environment that you are comfortable with, along with clarity of the task at hand, makes it easier to finish it properly. It may be achieved through support from co-workers, an unrestrictive workplace, perks, employee benefits, and an interest in the work at hand. A job that fulfills the needs of the employee can motivate them to do better.

On the other hand, the employees who take the side of job security prioritize having a job over enjoying it. In wake of the growing economy, having a job is a necessity in order to survive and sustain. Also, companies have a large pool of applicants to pick from. Hence, there is always the risk of being replaced easily. With these factors taken into consideration, one can argue that at the end of the day, irrespective of its quality, work brings in money. A job that ensures security and pays the employee can help them live comfortably.

From my personal viewpoint, a job that promises a good work-life balance is preferable over one that can be held in the long run. To support this, consider ‘Black Companies’ in Japan. These are organizations that pay their employees, but exploit them to the maximum through unpaid overtime, long working hours, and lack of respect. In contrast, having a job that does not risk one’s physical and mental health is far superior to ones mentioned previously, even if the former does not promise stability.

In conclusion, while job security is a crucial factor in the workforce, job satisfaction holds much more importance in comparison.