Some people think that, parents of children who commit crime should also receive punishment. Do you agree or disagree.

Some people might argue, that besides child criminals themselves, there should also be penalties for criminals’ parents. To a certain extent, I admit that it is not reasonable to punish parents who are innocent and may simply be unable to manage their child’s behaviour. However, I agree that this is not always the case, and stricter rules and penalties should be implemented for preventing further crimes. In this essay, I will discuss my opinions on the matter.

Despite the fact that some children acquire essential education and nurture, they still might be tempted to engage in criminal behaviour. In this case, parents shouldn’t receive any punishment as they are innocent. With further investigation, police or doctors who are specialized in mental health may determine the real cause of the misdeed and then determine if parents have a role in this or not. For instance, some children can be the victims of extortion by his gang members. Indeed, this type of action is not the guilt of parents.

However, juvenile delinquency is happening mostly because of poor parental supervision and lack of discipline in youngsters’ lives. Firstly, for major offenses, like murder and terrorism, children must be kept apart from their parents and peers to get education in an isolated place. Additionally, parents who neglect their children’s upbringing can also be considered potential culprits in these types of crimes. Secondly, for lower-level crimes, such as shoplifting, pickpocketing, and robbing someone, parents should be fined and warned for this not to be repeated again. Parental responsibility is the core factor for raising well-mannered children to the world around us.

In conclusion, if the committed crime is serious, I believe that punishing the parents of teenage criminals is definitely a sensible idea. Even in the less offending cases, some precautions should be taken for fostering and creating an acceptable community. Punishing parents for the trouble caused by their children will reduce instances of juvenile delinquency and encourage parents to be more responsible.