Some people think that poverty is the reason behind most crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

In the era of globalization and modern technologies, poverty has become one of the most relevant problems and it is listed as one of the 17 sustainable development goals. It is believed that poverty is the engine of most of the crimes and I partially agree with this statement.

On the one hand, a lot of offenders have committed crimes because of having a pathetic life, without any hopes for the future. In other words, they used to live in a dispiriting way on account of being poor, which pushed them to make themselves and their close ones as affluent as it is possible. For instance, Kazakhstan has been witnessing plenty of situations where individuals started robbing money from the government and through bribery because of greed and fear of losing such high-ranking jobs. Consequently, poverty may be one of main reasons of crimes.

On the other hand, psychological problems are also the root of offenses. Put differently, people who were traumatized during their formative years have accumulated anger and lust for revenge for even innocent humans. For example, children affected by the childhood violence and bullying often show hatred towards the world and have an increasing risk experiencing delusions in behavior and thoughts. Therefore, the background of a person, including parental relations and society, is also one of the key causes.

To sum up, all the aforementioned points illustrate that there are a huge variety of different reasons other than poverty, such as mental issues. If the indigence had not been existed, the world would have developed even more.