Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion

Many individuals hold a conviction that students having high academic performances should be divided into a gifted class, while other people think that it is probably good for students to be put into mixed-ability classes. Personally, I believe that selecting students based on their academic abilities is a wiser option.

On the one hand, students studying at academic classes may have many chances to develop in a suitable environment. Learning and working together with peers who have similar interests and understanding will likely provide them with workable competition, which can energize them on the path to success. Moreover, enrolling in a gifted class which is appropriate for students with high academic abilities may make pupils feel comfortable and passionate about their subjects thus acting as a catalyst for them to not only overcome difficulties and challenges encountered when studying but also have much more time to practice and gain knowledge revolving around these academic subjects. To illustrate this point, Vietnamese students can learn at specialized classes where they must pass the examination to be trained and taught advanced curriculums. Therefore, students may learn and advance more efficiently.

Additionally, integrating students with varying abilities not only brings about different sources of knowledge, but also facilitates opportunities to improve other skills. To begin with, trained in a mixed-ability class, students could potentially be exposed to a multitude of brilliant peers thus identifying and overcoming their own weaknesses. For instance, pupils specializing in science subjects may achieve many accomplishments relating to art fields, namely singing or dancing if they could have chances to be exposed to students who have high academic performances in art-related subjects. As a result, this could act as a catalyst for enhanced opportunities in their studying. Moreover, working together with individuals having diverse abilities also encourages them to cooperate, thereby gaining teamwork skill, making the progress more quickly.

In conclusion, both approaches are very beneficial for the development of students through a lot of ways. However, I strongly believe that putting students into academic classes dividing students based on their skill-sets is a precise option.