Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn team work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays team sports are seen as a suitable way to facilitate collaboration between children in order to reach their common goal. However, others believe that team sports are mostly beneficial for the sense of competition that they enhance. In my opinion, activities that requires the participation of a group of children, could be useful for both of these point of views.

First of all, children who plays in a team are more likely to improve theirselves. In fact, the possibility to communicate with each others allows them to understand better the actions required during the play. Moreover, collaboration could be useful for the development of interpersonal skills, such as empathy and respect for others. For example, if they see another child helping his teammate, they could imitate him learning the sense of being helpful.

On the other hand, although competition is often seen as a negative aspect, it could be positive if used as a way to stimulate the learning. For example, during a game, if things are not going in the right way, the sense of competition could help children to not giving up, forcing them to try different strategies. Therefore developing an healthy competition could led to pushing them to the excellence.

From my point of view, collaboration and competition are both the basis of a teamworking, hence they could be beneficial in an equal way. In particular, when children start working together as a team, they could gain new abilities because they could take inspiration from others actions. At the same time, healthy competition could motivate them to do better therefore is a way of learning and improving too.