Some people think that sports involving violence, such as boxing and martial arts, should be banned from TV as well as from international sport competitions. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that some kinds of sports, such as boxing, karate and martial arts in general, directly transmit violence and can lead to a chaotic society where people portray intense aggressiveness. Hence, those individuals concur that they should be banned from TV and, therefore, from international sports events. From my point of view, I can only partly agree with this statement, not least because we all are forced to live in a complex and imperfect reality.

In the first place, one must admit that such activities as diverse martial arts are superior for physical and mental health, inasmuch as they can minimize the level of stress or anxiety for some who struggle with it. In addition, spending energy and emotions on attending decent licensed clubs where one can practice such sports may exclude the thoughts of fighting in real life, clearly contributing to a lower level of crime.

Apart from that, such sports serve as one of the best methods of protecting individuals in unfavorable situations, since our world is far from perfect and streets in many cities are not that safe; one has a right to know how to defend themselves and their children in the event of a fight with a drunken person, for example. For that reason, some colleges and schools tend to teach these sports specifically to their students, so that they can protect themselves from eve-teasers or other criminal individuals.

The last argument is that a number of these sports are used to provide training to the military forces to protect themselves in case of any attack. Consequently, I assume that martial arts are integral part of our cruel world, and they deserve equal respect and should not be discriminated in any way, nor should they be banned here or there.

However, not everyone can perceive all the information they get right, which can result in numerous problems in our society. Content watched by the public can have major impacts on their behaviors. What is more, in theory, violent sports scenes can make people, especially teenagers, become more aggressive in their mentality and patterns of behavior. Worse still, more and more viewers might feel that violence and fighting are normal and acceptable concepts, since even governments support the broadcasting of this type of shows or give permission to arrange various kinds of said sports events.

Considering all of these arguments, I completely understand the position of those who would like the broadcasting of such types of sports as boxing or MMA to be banned from television and international tournaments. Nevertheless, my opinion is the opposite; people should consider this issue from a wider perspective.