Some people think that technology is now an invaluable study tool for young people. Others, however, believe that it is harmful for the studying process. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Technological advance has brought up many inventions in recent years. However, bringing them into the studying process is often a matter of considerable concern. Some people suggest that new technologies could improve the quality of education and that students could benefit from them. On the contrary, there is a common belief that the usage of digital devices and browsing the Net can worsen the students’ ability to memorize and decrease their concentration.

On the one hand, there are several advantages of using new technologies in the studying process. Firstly, since students can find almost all the necessary information on the Internet, they do not have to spend much time commuting to libraries and finding a certain article. This allows young researchers to concentrate more on writing a good paper rather than searching for the sources for it. For example, many top-flight universities create their own e-libraries, so that their students always have remote access to the books they need. Secondly, technologies could help to make the educational process look more like a game which can attract children and make studying more appealing for them. For instance, there are many foreign language teachers who use online platforms to play educational games with their pupils.

On the other hand, there are, also, many drawbacks. Indeed, nowadays students are far less concentrated than their parents used to be. Many young people use tablets and laptops as study tools, which allows them not only to write notes about the subject, but also to chat on social media and play games during the class. This, undoubtedly, leads to a decrease in the quality of education. In addition, with the advance of artificial intelligence, cheating has become easier. Previously students had to prepare notes or to ask a friend to help, so either time-management or social skills developed. However, nowadays they can cheat by just using “Chat GPT” on their phone. This makes education less valuable.

To conclude, even though technologies could ease the students’ life by making study more interesting and less time-consuming, they also decrease concentration and allow cheating. Therefore, I think that new technologies should be brought into the study process with strict regulations that will prevent unwanted consequences.