Some people think that teenagers should do some unpaid work in the local community. Some people believe that it benefit both young people and society as a whole. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that teenagers should be required to do community work in their free time, as it will benefit teenagers and the environment as well. Personally, I believe that could help both students and the school, but it should be a voluntary act and not required. This essay further analyzes the statement and gives evidence and examples to support my point of view.

On the one hand, unpaid work is regarded as volunteering, which helps students collect their extracurricular activities. It has many advantages for socializing, learning to help other people, and respecting every job because teenagers will further understand the value of all work. For example, community hours will show future colleges and universities that the student is a responsible person who can handle helping other people. In one of the essays I read as an example of motivational essays, the applicant mentioned that he helped and volunteered for an unpaid job in a hospital. Now he studies at a top university. It doesn’t necessarily mean that if you do the volunteering work, you would magically get selected for a top university, but it still defines you as a person and gives the admission committee a glimpse into your character, which can definitely boost your chances.

On the other hand, volunteering is regarded as volunteering If people choose to do this act, not if they are forced to do it. The meaning of community work will automatically be erased. Some students want to do volunteering because they like it, but others may not like spending their free time on unpaid community work. Moreover, unpaid work can be harsh because many events require standing on your feet for a very long time, and still-growing young teens won’t have the ability to constantly stand for a very long time. That is why, therefore, volunteering work should not be required.

In conclusion, considering everything, volunteering has advantages for the students and community, but it should still be a voluntary act.