Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to get drivers tested each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The most useful technique to ensure the safety of the road transport is doing the driving tests on a yearly basis. I completely disagree with that statement because this method does not nearly work and has a detrimental effect on human freedom.Instead , other ways ,such as improving road conditions can be more effective.

Organizing yearly exams to test people’s driving might not be useful for keeping roads safety. To explain, driving is a skill , not a knowledge that needs to be learned or revised several times.Once a person is smart enough to pass the exam , there is no need to organize it again. As they constantly drive, at least once or twice a day, they can keep themselves skillful. In that way, a conclusion, that the efforts made to organize these yearly tests are probably the waste of money and energy, can be driven.

Applying this method in practice can be uncomfortable for people , affecting their freedom. To illustrate, in most countries, driving licences normally expire in 5 or even 10 years. People have already gotten used to it and as a result, taking driving tests every year may be bothersome for them. Furthermore, to organize tests costs a big amount money, which may lead to a demand on citizens to pay for the test or at least for a part of it. Repitition of this tests will lead to constant uncomfort and a considerable amount of money to be spent by test takers themselves , which lowers the freedom of people.

Instead, I believe, other techniques are much more efficient to keep roads safe. For example, the main reason of road accidents that happen regularly is the congestion of cars on the road. To solve this problem, governments can allocate their power and money to widening roads or implementing policies regarding the number of cars. In that way , the flow of transportation gets smoother and the number of incidents can be largely reduced.Therefore, This strategy is much more efficient than testing people’s driving skills every year.

In conclusion, to keep the safety of road transport , people do need to take driving tests every year. Because, this technique is nearly unuseful and detrimental for their freedom. Instead, other practices can be applied to tackle the issue successfully.