Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to get drivers tested each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, road accidents are becoming more frequently, especially among younger generations, thus some individuals believe that every driver should pass the driving exam every year to decrease the rate of accidents. I completely disagree with this statement because despite taking a driving tests are useful for drivers, it cannot be the solution to reduce the accidents, and there are several reasons when it comes to road accidents. So, this essay will promote why taking driving tests every year cannot solve the issue called accidents with some evidences.

Firstly, the majority of people, especially younger generations do not follow the road rules, such as in some destinations, the speed of vehicle should not be higher than limit, and traffic light rules. For instance, younger people tend to be curious, thus they usually compete in driving against each other on the public roads. As a result, it causes several road accidents. In my opinion, to prevent this, parents should control their children in driving and it is good when they teach some tips about driving. Furthermore, some individuals hurry to get somewhere, so they usually don’t stop at traffic lights on red. Consequently, they may clash with pedestrians who cross the road, increasing the death rate. In addition, the fine prices are so high, and that’s so hard to pay for people, especially for low-income communities, rising rate of poverty.

Secondly, the majority of individuals tend to drink alcohol regularly, even they drive a car after drinking alcohol, which is one the main reasons why road accidents happen more frequently. Additionally, studies show that drinking alcohol reduces activity of brain significantly, and if people drive vehicles while drinking, it increases rate of road accidents by 80%. In my perspective, nowadays, vehicles that can drive itself without a driver are producing by companies, so if don’t believe themselves after drinking alcohol, they can turn on it to auto mode, which allows vehicle driving itself with AI.

In conclusion, taking tests every year cannot be the main solution to reduce road accidents among people because there are other main reasons of accidents that cannot be solved by taking exams. Therefore, instead of taking exams, people should do alternative ones, take care.