Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the min legal age for driving a car or motorbike.To what extent do you agree/disagree

In today’s world, the debate over whether governments should increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes to improve road safety has sparked a heated controversy among citizens, policy makers, and other stakeholders. From my perspective, I partly agree with this action. This essay will thoroughly discuss both potential merits and drawbacks of this higher minimum age for riding and driving.

On the one hand, mature ages serve as the precursor for responsibility with society. Particularly, participating in the traffic without comprehensive cognition and proper knowledge can pose significant risks to drivers and others. Moreover, young ages often accompany the uncontrolled enthusiasm, which is presented by over-speed when riding and driving. These are clearly a serious threat to all societies and can lead to dire consequences. To illustrate, from 2000 to 2010, Vietnam recorded an abundant number of road accidents, stemming from the lack of regulations about minors riding motorbikes. As a result, a more appropriate policy in minimum age is necessary to address this issue.

Nevertheless, an over-high minimum age for riding and driving can leave certain drawbacks. Specifically, this strict regulation can lead to the reduction in the number of drivers, resulting in a loss in the transportation market. In addition, this action can lead to a higher number of people that drive illegally, leaving far more dangers for society. Furthermore, the problem can be caused by the mix of various underlying factors, depending on each case from different countries. Lack of education or low quality of infrastructure can play main parts in traffic accidents. Therefore, ensuring road safety requires a multi-faces approach and versatile solutions, in lieu of blindly taking action.

In conclusion, while increasing the minimum legal age can enhance the quality of drivers, it may leave some drawbacks on the economy and other serious consequences. Ultimately, appropriate approach and flexibility are essential for addressing all national affairs.