Some people think that the government should provide free education at every level. However, some say that individuals should pay for their university education. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The question of whether higher education should be free for all students or funded by the government entirely is quite debatable. While some believe that the government should bear the full cost others argue that students must take financial responsibility for their studies. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of both sides of the argument.

I feel its beneficial to many students who come from poor economic families, many students who are exceptionally intelligent but have to work and can’t focus studies, causing their grades to dip, it could be of tremendous help to them. The burden of the parents who can’t provide their children education would decrease. Parents who have more than 1 child won’t be under financial debt and stress rates would become less. Education is a right and one should not be stripped from their rights just because of their family income status. But the taxes would increase, if the government had to fund for higher education.

Although if students take the financial responsibility at such a young age it would affect their credit score and lead students into massive financial debts. Many students who have taken loans for professional courses tend to take higher loans than regular students and spend a mass of their pay checks paying the loan and the interest rates. As time progresses the interest rates on such loans are increasing. Many parents don’t want their children to start off their life with debt and a bad credit score. While the government could work towards lowering the interest rates on student loans which could ease the burden. However this could also teach students about financial independence and how to handle money more efficiently.

In conclusion, I personally believe that every student should be given an equal and fair opportunity. While if higher education should be free for all students or funded by the government, I would say education should be completely funded by the government.