Some people think that the teenagers should concentrate on all subjects at school. others believe that teenagers should focus on the subject they are best at or they are most interested in. To what extent do you agree?

There are those who believe that teenagers must have a general education at school while others think that their subjects should be more focused on what they like, or in what they do best. I think that students should be familiar with the core concepts of all subjects. They should also be allowed one part of their education to focus on what they like, but not so much on what they are skilled at.

Everyone should have a general knowledge of how the world works. Formal education in multiple subjects at school helps achive that objective. It is important for an individual to explore a range of siences and topics, like art, humanities and mathematics. It prepares them to choose what to focus on latter in life.

However, I also think that once a teenager have been exposed to a range of ideas, they should be able to choose a path and make a deep dive. An important aspect of happines is to be able to do what you like, and instead of waiting to get to university to choose a path, teens should be able to delve into their interests when they are at high school. This will enable them to make mistakes early on, and be better prepared to choose the next level of their education or even get a job after school if needed.

On the other hand, I do not agree that teenagers should focus on what they are best. I think that with enough practice anyone can get proficient in any task that would support them. It is passion and interest that should take precedence in choosing what to focus on.

In conclusion, my opinion is that teenagers should first be exposed to a range of subjects and then be given the opportunity to choose a path to specialize while they are at high school. The criteria that should be used to choose this focus should be the student’s affinity with the topic. This will help them explore different interest and would make for happier adults in the future.