Some people think that those who travel outside of their own country are more tolerant and understanding of others. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that frequent visitors of different countries are more considerate to people needs and accommodate the feelings of other people. In my opinion, I believe that this notion is meritorious because they observe practices that dispel the myths associated with superiority of their culture and other social values like empathy.

One of the reasons for the validity of this notion is that it shatters the concept of cultural superiority. Certain cultures and races consider themselves superior and have unfounded biases against people from different caste, creeds, and races. This is because people from other countries have certain elements of their culture, however, when they are exposed to the cultural traits of other individuals, they realize that they also have certain qualities that are highly desirable. For instance, China is considered a violator of human rights, but by visiting it, this myth can be dispelled taking its economic prosperity into consideration.

Another reason is the firsthand experience of certain social values. It is commonly observed that certain societies lack many traits that are essential for developing harmony. Owing to their tours, they acquire them and practice in their day-to-day dealings. For instance, the concept of empathy and social safety net for the poor can be implemented while learning in non-native societies

In conclusion, it is often asserted that to achieving a tolerant personality, visiting foreign countries is necessary. And in my opinion, I consider that this statement is true due to the tendency to dispel the myths of ethnocentrism and the acquisition of many cultural attributes like compassion that are lacking in local society and essential for growth and development.