Some people think that those who travel outside of their own country are more tolerant and understanding of others. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The notion that people travelling abroad seem to be more tolerant and have better comprehension of other cultures and lifestyles is a topic of considerable discussion. As I am asked about the degree of agreement or disagreement of the statement, I will say, that this essay totally agrees with the mentioned idea, and is going to express that frequent travelling does indeed force great tolerance and better understanding among individuals.

First of all, exposing to various countries and socializing with people from diverse classes of society are the main contributors in an individual’s tolerance; when an adult travels abroad, he or she learns the country’s traditions, customs, and the lifestyle of the inhabitants. For instance, a Japan traveller visiting Europe, may encounter different social norms and traditions, etiquette, and the political system; these circumstances force the visitor to respect and adhere to the guidelines of this area. This develops sense of tolerance and responsibility of comprehension something unknown and undiscovered before.

The other significant reason is destroying ingrained stereotypes and inaccurate, persistent misconceptions that have emerged because of the lack of exposure. For example, for a typical Balkan country citizen Western Europe seems like something romantic, with a moderate, lighthearted lifestyle; but ones a person with such stereotypes visit this region, he or she might discover the harsh reality with the same hardships, all misconceptions will be ruined.

In conclusion, exposure to diverse cultures and the opportunity to challenge stereotypes and prejudices create a conducive environment for personal growth and increased empathy. International travel not only broadens one’s horizons but also nurtures a sense of acceptance and appreciation for the richness of human diversity. Thus, travelling abroad positively influences an individual’s level of tolerance and understanding of differences.