Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

A new hot topic has been emerging in discussions between people. Should we replace the olden buildings with modern buildings to conserve the overall aesthetic of the city, or should we preserve these old buldings? In this essay, I will discuss both views and provide my opinion.

Antiqued buildings are a piece of evidence of the extensive history of a city. For example, in the United Kingdom, it would not be fitting to demolish houses built in the victorian era to allow for newer buildings to be instilled. In addition to that, destroying existing houses to build newer ones is unrealistic due to the fact that it is more expensive to build new houses than to repair older ones. The final reason in my opinion is to leave older houses as a sign of appreciation for older generations. Personally, I would not appreciate the structures my childhood has been built up on to be destroyed without a second thought.

On the other hand, some older buildings are simply too far gone. Continuously repairing all problems and issues is more costly than simply rebuilding them. Moreover, technology is advancing at shocking speeds. It is important to take advantage of these technologies for convenience or safety. Examples of these are advanced CCTV systems or controlling light switches through your phone from the comfortability of your bed. Implementing these state-of-the-art technologies in these existing homes is much more difficult then implementing it while building a new house.

Overall, I believe that preserving some of the aged buildings is important while simultaneously renovating some of the more corroded and weak buildings while upgrading the facilities at the same time.