Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain people believe, that in order to become fluent in a language one must live in a country, where that language is spoken as the mother tongue. Here “Fluent” is refers to the ability to speak a language easily and well without many pauses. I completely agree that living among native speakers is essential to achieving fluency, as it provides benefits such as, improved pronunciation, continuous listening practice and real- world experience beyond the class room.

One major benefit is improved pronunciation skill. The correct pronunciation is essential for the fluency for a language. Sometimes, we try to pronounce foreign words in a way that is easy or familiar to us, but this is not the correct approach. For instance, in the Grman language, the word “ich” should be pronounced like the sound in English “h” and not as the sound “ch”. However, in Sri Lanka, teachers often guide to students to use the “ch” sound because it is easier to pronounce. This reason confirms, in order to become fluent, one needs to go a country where the relevant language is widely spoken.

Another significant reason is obtaining real- world experience beyond the classroom. Living with native speakers has led to understand different styles of conversations, speeds of speech, accents of speech. These are invaluable lessons, which are not typically taught in the class rooms. According to research by ADERUL in Austria in 1992, working with native speakers improves language fluency by 78%. According to this object, it is fair to agree for the fluency, must live in a country where the relevant language is spoken as the mother tongue.

In addition, continuous listening practice is a vital benefit for achieving the fluency. When a person lives in a foreign country, gets the ability to listen without restrictions. This is a golden way to improve fluency in a language. For example, when learning a foreign language, we have limited time to listen and it is only for study. Based on this evidence, it is reasonable to agree that fluency requires living in a country where the relevant language is spoken as the mother tongue.

I concurred, to become fluent in a language must live in a country, which the required language is spoken as the mother tongue. I illustrated this idea by demonstrating the benefits of real-world experience beyond the classroom, continuous listening practice, and accurate pronunciation. Looking ahead, it is advantageous to encourage living, even for a short period , in a country where the relevant language is spoken.