Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning different languages today can open more door and individuals can find more opportunities. Language can be learnt through work experience, watching movies or listening music, but not so fluent, as living in a country where it is spoken.

Some people consider that learning foreign language can be easier if you live or work in a country, in which you can speak it. Moreover, when you live and work in a particular country you can learn their “non-formal” language – idioms and this can be helpful to speak it fluently. For example, if your colleagues are native speakers your experience in language will be better. Thus, working and living in foreign country can improve your skills.

On the other hand, you can learn different languages when you listen music, watching movies, reading non-fiction or science books. Furthermore, you can improve your speaking skills if you speak more with foreigners. For instance, playing online games or chatting with strangers can upgrade your abilities, no matter you are not living in the country. As a result, your spoken language become fluent.

I do agree with this statement, because a particular language can be learnt best in the country, in which you can use it daily. So, I advocate the idea, that if you are working or living abroad, you can learn language better, than if you are not in a country.

In conclusion, I think that living or working in a foreign country have more advantages than disadvantages, in terms of learning its language. In addition, playing games, reading books and watching movies are only preferences to enhance your skills.