some people think the best way to solve traffic congestion in cities is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day 7 days a week is it good or bad, to what extent do you agree or disagree

In contemporary society, some individuals assert that the most effective strategy for addressing traffic congestion in cities is to provide citizens with free public transport every day. However, I find this opinion flawed and difficult to justify for two reasons.

The foremost reason is that providing individuals with free public transport places escalating financial stress on the administration.Specifically,although free public transport can attract more citizens and alleviate traffic congestion, particularly during rush hours, the administration still needs to invest money in transportation-related expenditures such as maintenance, construction, and renewal. This increases the fiscal burden on the government, limiting its ability to allocate funds to other important areas. For example, Beijing spent $200 million on building subway lines and stations in 2023, but the issue of traffic congestion remains effectively unresolved due to the excessive population.

In addition, providing free transportation is not necessarily the best solution, as there are other methods to alleviate traffic congestion.In other words, even if some individuals choose public transport, many others do not. The reason for this is that they find the experience of taking public transportation uncomfortable—spaces are often crowded, and it can take a significant amount of time to line up. Consequently, they believe that driving is more time-saving and convenient, especially for long-distance trips. This reliance on personal vehicles does not help in solving traffic congestion. For instance, some authorities attempt to address this issue by expanding roadways to encourage compliance with traffic rules.

Overall, this essay argues that providing free public transport is not the most effective method to address the problem of traffic congestion.Because the costs associated with this approach are relatively high, and there are other viable initiatives that can be proposed to tackle this issue.