Some people think the increasing use of technology in the workplace is good for young people's prospects of gaining a job and harder for old people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that the increasing integrity of technology into offices facilitates young generations in landing a job, while it may be more challenging for older ones. Although technological literacy is certainly a valuable asset, I firmly disagree with this viewpoint as it’s not the sole determinant.

Supporters of technological involvement in workplaces being more beneficial for youngsters posit that the young possess higher digital literacy. They argue that as young generations are exposed to the digital world very early, they can navigate the technical challenges caused by technology more easily. Whereas with seniors, this age group may have difficulty adapting to this development, since their mental and physical capacities are subpar, making it challenging to acquire new knowledge. Therefore, employers may find younger contestants more prospective. However, this perspective overlooks the fact that apart from some heavily technical demanding fields like computers and science, most professions just require basic digital skills such as drafting a document or emailing, which can be learned easily with provided training.

Conversely, others argue that job acquisition involves other more central factors, including working attitude and ability. Regarding the former, a positive, dedicated, and professional attitude towards work can significantly outweigh any age-related concerns. Therefore, employers often value employees who are reliable, loyal, and willing to learn. For instance, statistics have shown that youngsters are more likely to switch jobs frequently whereas older ones tend to stick with one position for a longer time period. This phenomenon is more worth considering as it may affect the company image. Turning to the latter, an individual’s ability and experience significantly play a role. If one can demonstrate their abilities and possesses necessary qualifications, they can undoubtedly be qualified for the position regardless of their age.

In conclusion, despite the fact that digital literacy is an important skill in offices, given the technology-driven world these days, I contend that this is not a big obstacle for the old. Instead, other factors, namely working demeanor and qualification, are more central in getting a job. It is imperative for employers to have a comprehensive vision of the contestants, and provide adequate training for some elderly workforce to hone their digital skills.