Some people think too much attention and too many resources are given to the protection of wild animals and birds.Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals claim that attention and budgets spent on protecting wild species are abundant and unnecessary. However, in this essay, I will challenge this school of thought.

Admittedly, there are some reasonable reasons for the negative attitude toward enormous funds for natural fauna protection activities. Chief of these is that there are too many billboards that advocate the protection of endangered species such as Rhinoceros or Elephants. Having many competitors for people’s attention, making a fascinating billboard often seems to be expensive. An abundance of these billboards would evidently cost a huge sum of money from donors and it does not even actually protect anything but raise individuals’ awareness, explaining why many people feel that this money is wasted. Moreover, many influencers and authorities open numerous fundraising campaigns for environmental and animal preservation that gather millions of dollars. However, many people, especially those of lower income brackets, think that these resources could be used for other purposes such as alleviating hunger and poverty or updating educational facilities for children in rural areas. Those aforementioned activities are likely to have a more direct impact on human lives, compared to protecting wild animals.

However, I note that the reasons behind the overwhelming amount of money for protecting animals are stronger and if humankind is not willing to spend excessively to conserve animals, the consequences would be disastrous, regarding both financial and existential aspects. Granted, one might argue that with the rapid improvement of technology, animal extinction would be just a negligible issue and could be easily prevented, However, this line of reasoning is not sound because even though new machines seem to be relatively effective, many wild species are still dying out at an alarming rate. Therefore, development in the future is still not enough to ensure the survival of local fauna. Furthermore, every animal plays an indispensable part in the global ecosystem that cannot be changed, especially some key species. Take, for example, bees and birds are essential for pollination and pest control and all these processes are important in sustaining global food security. If all these activities were severely affected, humankind could face financial loss and even existential threat, rendering the money for wildlife protection is reasonable for its impact.

In conclusion, while it is understandable why some individuals hold the view that the attention and resources for preserving feral beings are needless, I strongly believe that they are vital to ensure financial growth and the survival of humans. It is recommended that these resources should be managed better to reduce potential economic waste.