Some people think watching television is bad for children in every way. Others think it is good for children to get knowledge. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is widely believed that watching movies can badly impact on children, however others think that this is a helpful tool to gain the knowledge for them. From my perspective, TV movies should be engaged in children learning process, because its flexibility and usefulness. However, incorrect time-management might lead to the addiction and, as a result, depression.

On the one hand, most people become addicted from watching the TV and children are not the exception. Furthermore, the showed content also may consist some inappropriate topics and information, which can affect children’s fragile mental health. Subsequently, spending a majority of time watching television can cause depression and obsession in a long term. For example, some studies claim that around 80 per cent of children and teenagers, who watch movies more than 4 hours a day, face with depression due to the sensitive content and spending too much time watching a screen. So, parents should control the content of watching and manage the children’s time to reduce the chance of facing such problems.

On the other hand, television is a great instrument for entertainment and attraction children’s attention. It can be used for beneficial learning by providing clear and understandable explanation, which can make educational process simplier and useful. For instance, there is a common practice, especially for young parents in Ukraine and Russia, to show learning cartoons like “Phycsicy”, that show the nature of the physics and chemistry through colourful pictures and fascinating stories. Finally, this makes children perceive some challenging information through entertainment content.

To sum up, although watching too much cartoons can lead to some mental health issues for children, with the rational distribution of time and parental control, the television movies give a great opportunity for parents to explain some challenging things to their children, and it can be used as s part of educational process.