Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whilst others see it as something negative which should be avoided. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that nurturing children, especially in the adolescence stage, is a daunting responsibility. While some people believe that parent-child conflicts are a fundamental part of raising a child, others argue that parents and children must shun disagreements. In my view, I believe that disputes are a natural part of the bringing up process, so in this essay, I will explain my point of view and the other side of the argument.

Those who advocate avoiding child-parent conflicts may argue that those conflicts would weaken the relationship between teenagers and their parents. Thus, teenagers may seek validity and advice from their peers, who are not qualified enough to give advice, to help them navigate a tough phase such as adolescence. So, parents need to avoid arguments with their children. Also, children must obey their parents without question, since most religions ask sons to blindly follow their parents’ orders, especially those orders stem from unwavering love and care.

However, I would say that it is fine for parents and adolescents to go through disagreement of opinions, as a natural phenomenon for being humans with different personalities. Also, parent-child conflicts are an indication of a healthy environment, where children can express their ideas freely. This will reflect on the children’s ability to manage later conflicts with their partners or even coworkers. For example, If a son had tried all his life to avoid disagreements with his parents, he would have done the same behavior with his peers and partner. This unhealthy pattern of behavior may turn him into a non-assertive as well as a people-pleaser person. Thus, having conflicts with our parents reflects on our ability to handle other disagreements later on.

In conclusion, parent-child conflicts may be a cause for a fragile relationship between parents and their sons, but it would also enhance teenagers’ social skills as it is a part of the real-life world. So, I believe we must keep a space for disagreement with our children, but this disagreement must be built on respect for one another.