Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that having these people to give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about the dangers of committing a crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Educating school students about illegal behaviors through speeches givven by ex-prisoners has been a major topic of concern in today’s society. While there are some reasons to believe that this might positively affect youngsters’ comprehension, there are more effective educational methods to enhance their understanding of the risks of breaking the law.

On the one hand, there might be some reasons why people think that having reformed criminals speak with school learners about the hazards associated with crime is beneficial in several ways. The important reason is that students can absorb important life lessons from those who have genuinely experienced punishment after committing a crime. To be specific, witnessing the real-life consequences of criminal acts, as told by a former offender, is often a powerful deterrent against future wrongdoings of the young generations. In addition, crime stories shared d by a person who has committed a crime before are generally more persuasive than reading about them in newspapers or listening to them on television.

On the other hand, there are stronger arguments that better solutions exist to demonstrate to pupils the detrimental effects of participating in crime to decrease the juvenile crime rate. One of the most viable options is to introduce criminology as a subject in the school curriculum. This addition can serve two purposes; while studying this subject, minors can equip themselves with knowledge about the severity of crime and how to avoid being a victim by recognizing the signals of potential criminals and protecting themselves. Furthermore, the reintegration of an ex-convict can be problematic if they are frequently asked to speak about their criminal past at school, making them prone to unwanted attention and possibly reinforcing a criminal mindset.

In conclusion, although talks delivery by ex-criminals might raise their awareness about the repercussions of committing unethical behaviors, there is more compelling evidence to support alternative methods that provide efficient results. It is recommended that authorities explore more effective educational approaches, as relying on talks by ex-prisoners may not provide the best outcome for students’ understanding or the reintegration process.