Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, retirement age has become a matter of contention. A number of people vocally assert that working time should be increased because of the rise in their longevity. From my point of view, I totally agree with this opinion.

On the one hand, it is believed that the policy of raising retirement age should not be applied. Since old people can quit their job at a very early age, they are able to spend more time enhancing their well-being, such as doing yoga or participating in some physical exercise clubs, which is the main factor facilitating higher life expectancy. Besides, not increasing working time also helps people perform several significant activities in the rest of life, followed by realizing their long-held dreams, taking part in voluntary groups or strengthening family bonds

On the other hand, I support the viewpoint that later retirement age also gains a noticeable merit which is the nation’s potential improvement. It is note-worthy that by means of maintaining employees at workplace, it can result in a huge number of labor force. This will positively improve many aspects of a country. For example, regarding economic field, experienced investors or businessmen play a critical role in the vigorous economic development. Similarly in scientific study, countries whose experts have been working for years can achieve many scientific contributions and new findings for humanity.

In conclusion, early retirement can make individuals have a comfortable and peaceful life, relaxing during the rest of their years. However, they are one of the most important factors in the process of national innovation. Therefore, the rise of the age at which employees retire from work can be considered an advantageous plan.