Some say that reading newspapers and watching TV news is a waste of time, because it has no direct connection with people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, the emergence of social media has allowed people to interact with others easily. This begs the question of whether reading newspapers and watching TV news is a waste of time due to the lack of connection with our lives. This essay justifies my objection to the unimportance of reading newspapers and watching TV news.

Firstly, TV news and newspapers can keep people informed of the latest events on a global scale. As they are updated on a regular basis, they can help people keep abreast of the international economy and politics. Besides, those means of information can raise public awareness of a certain problem; therefore, people can have suitable approaches to deal with. This can be demonstrated by the case of VTV news, which is broadcast in Vietnam on a daily basis. This programme informs people about the current issues of Vietnam and also on a large scale, which contributes to the understanding of the Vietnamese inhabitants.

Secondly, TV news and newspapers are more trustworthy than other channels when it comes to providing information. These programmes and presses are certificated by the government; therefore, the reliability of these means of information are ensured, enabling people to have a precise overview about a wide range of problems. By contrast, mass media sometimes can circulate pervasive and misleading information to people, which can have negative repercussions for several companies or individuals. A typical case in point is the suicide of a Chinese male due to problems in his relationships. A great selection of Vietnamese pages on social media shared this information, making up a variety of stories related to this poor man. This led to devastating influences on his girlfriend in terms of personal life and mental well-being.

However, opponents of this idea may claim that people now can read a hefty amount of information on social networks owing to the introduction of Internet; therefore, it is unnecessary to read newspapers and watch TV news. However, it is worth pointing out that people living in remote area are unable to gain access to the Internet connection. As a result, press and TV programs, which can reach these areas, are of great importance for these inhabitants to keep themselves updated. Take, for instance, Vietnamese mountainous area. On the grounds of the poverty in this area, people are not able to afford the expenses for Internet connection. This, in turn, leads to the significance of TV and newspapers as the only way for them to know about the world surrounding. Hence, I maintain that newspapers and watching TV news is not a waste of time.

In conclusion, I am strongly opposed to the idea that reading newspapers and watching TV news is a waste of time for the scarcity of connection with our lives. What is also important here is that pages on social media platforms can summarize the news for the sake of several people.