Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Students have their own mobile phones. In some schools around the world, the management restricted the use of it. In my view, this is a positive trend that can bring benefits not only academically but also in their way thinking.

Restricting mobile phones in the classroom can be a way to improve. Bringing a phone to the school is a distraction itself for the student what more if the student uses it. Gadgets reduces the attention span of the user in a matter of seconds, the student tends not to listen to the teacher when he is too focused on using his mobile phone. For instance, when engaged to social media, constant checking leads to missing important lessons, keywords, announcements, and more importantly, knowledge. This is one of the reasons that I think it is beneficial to restrict mobile phones.

Phones have a lot of services to offer to the users, it is very convenient, one of the many examples is internet. Children have unlimited potential by using their brain, however, because of the usage of phones in classes, they rely too much on it to think for them and their thinking ability will go to waste. It will have long term effects in their intellect aspect, for example, phones are always available they don’t want to study because the information or answer is one click away. Furthermore, it can be used as a method of cheating. These examples are avoidable if phones are banned.

In conclusion, although technology is already part of our lives. I firmly believe that banning mobile phones to schools is necessary. With the restrictions, student will direct their attention span to the teacher, learn better, and have confidence in their ability and not commit a sin.