Some students choose to work or travel after leaving school and before going to university. Many people, however, say that working experience is more useful in adult life than traveling. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views as to whether upon graduating from school, students have several options, such as working or traveling prior to studying at the university. While traveling can broaden their horizons and gain more new experiences, I personally believe that working tends to be beneficial for preparing them for adult life.

Proponents of the idea that traveling seems useful put forward several arguments to justify their stance. The more people travel around the world, the more they are able to get experiences and broaden their horizons, thus leading to personal growth in life. Consequently, this enhances their adaptability and social skills and enables them to have further advantages, including professional and communication skills, in their future career. Take my country as an example, where many students try to explore new places and go abroad to gain more information about other cultures to broaden their social horizons.

Despite these arguments, I support the view that working brings more benefits than drawbacks. Many students can work to provide for themselves financially as soon as they finish school, leading them to boost their endurance and responsibility in real life. As a result, it increases soft skills like time management and teamwork. Moreover, they can foster better collaboration and problem-solving abilities. This is the case with Uzbekistan where school graduates seek employment opportunities to support themselves with money before going to the university owing to high tuition and rental fees.

In conclusion, although young people should explore and travel abroad in order to understand other cultures as well as improve language skills, I undoubtedly contend that working equips them with initial experiences of adult life and teaches them about its pros and cons. Only through supporting them to do both traveling and working can governments reduce tuition fees and provide them financially