Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether it is powerful to communicate orally rather than by writing. Personally, I believe that both modes of communication are influential in their own way, and appropriate in specific circumstances.

Admittedly, there are compelling reasons to say that speaking is an effective form of communication. First and foremost, oral communication enables to create a connectedness between listeners and speakers. This is because such method allows them to express emotions through intonation and tone of voice which can give each other a sense of empathy and sympathy. Moreover, by interacting face to face, this can help to prevent misunderstandings. Basically, it is easy for people, who misunderstand what the other is saying, to ask for further explanation, allowing them to understand completely.

On the other hand, the benefits of writing are in plain sight. Chief of these is that communication in the form of writing has its formality and accuracy. Since every single word and punctuation mark in written forms would be selected meticulously which suit each context, readers can understand the content of those. In addition, written communication in the form of emails, messages and documents, which could be kept in storage, allow people to reread and analyze to have a thorough understanding. It is common to see that legal constitutions, contracts and reports are in written form.

In conclusion, both spoken and written forms of communication have its benefits that people can take into account to decide which mode to apply in each specific situation.