Students in school should learn academic subjects and pass exam. Other skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwark can be learnt well from family and friends. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that schools should lay emphasis on only academic success and passing examinations whereas skills including cookery, dressmaking and woodworking should be taught at homes instead of schools. I largely disagree to this notion, and the key reasons behind this view will be explained below.

To begin with, in modern times, children often suffers from huge pressure of studies. if extra skills are taught in school campus, they will be able to divert their mind from pressure. Therefore, it helps them to get relaxed from the burden of studies. Additionally, several students often weak in studies, but they have other talents. Thus, providing extra skills education leads to be helpful for other students as it offers them polish their natural skills. For example, a recent survay in the US found that approximately 40% of student’s hidden talent found out from teaching skills at schools because they were unknown about their own talent at first.

Furthermore, skills teaching at schools help students to make successful career. To elaborate, providing extra curricular activities education at school assist them to nurture necessary skills, such as cooking as students spend their more time at school as compared to homes. As a result, it is the responsibility of schools to provide education on extra curricular activities, which helps them to make their bright future, and they will be able to become independent.

To conclude, it can be reiterated that school teachers invest their time on teaching extra skills rather than forcing children to pay more attention or academic success.