Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Choosing a university major is one of the most daunting decision we make in our adult lives as it determines our future and must be made very carefully. Some believe that students should choose a major that will provide financial rewards later. Personally, I disagree and feel that the choice should be based on passion rather than income.

Contrary to the belief that university should prepare you for a high earning salary, a person’s interest should be the key factor when choosing a major. Indeed, if you do what you love, you never work a day in your life. This means that if your dream is to become surgeon, for instance, then performing operations every day will not be boring, but a dream come true. The same goes for someone who loves art. Working in gallery each day, surrounded by what you love, will feel like being paid for doing your favorite hobby. So, students should choose to major in an area where they can see themselves being happy and fulfilled. If a high-paying salary comes along with that, then it is a bonus.

In addition, choosing a major based solely on financial reward rather than on fulfillment can lead to a life of misery. We spend most of our lives at work. Even if the salary is exceptional, and you can afford your dream home, holidays, and expensive luxuries, who wants to be doing something they do not feel inspired by? Evidence shows that this will lead to stress and regret later in life when you discover that money cannot buy happiness. Therefore, we should study something that will lead to a path of fulfillment and satisfaction. It is better to look back and be happy with the life we have lived, rather than the money we made.

To conclude, choosing a university major is a huge decision for many people who are just at the beginning of the rest of their lives. It is a decision that can shape their future and therefore should be chosen with care. Although potential salary is an important consideration, I strongly believe that following our dreams rather than living a life of regret should be the guiding factor when making this choice.