Sugary drinks should be made more expencive to encourage people to consume less sugar do you agree or disagree?

The overconsumption of sugar is a highly concerning problem nowadays, especially drinks specifically sodas. I agree that the government should encourage healthy eating habits, including the limitation of sugar intake in terms of sodas. There’s been a debate whether increasing the price of soda would reduce its sales resulting in less consumed sugar.

Soda being more unaffordable might discourage some people to buy them, for example parents or teenagers. On the other hand, a hefty sum of people that are consuming sodas are grown adults that have a steady income. So, while they might complain about the rising price of sodas, it might not fully prevent them from consuming it less. The same can be said with cigarettes, even though it doesn’t have a low pricetag, smokers that are addicted would still purchase it because it’s addictive. Similarly, high intakes of sugars are also known to give an addiction-like feeling, making it hard for people that regularly consume sugars because of the addiction factor of sugar.

So, it is best to acknowledge these factors and take them into consideration to take the best action tackling the sugar intake problem.