Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary milieu, the assertion that governments should work on decreasing levels of pollution and resolving housing issues if they seek to eliminate nations’ health problems has prompted considerable discussion, with divergent viewpoints emerging on the matter. In my considered opinion, while the opposition claims that this perspective does not have any sense, the prevailing arguments for the reasonbleness of this statement are more compelling due to the direct link between the levels of pollution in the area and the population’s wellbeing and the amount of stress and health disorders housing problems can cause.

At the forefront, a primary reason for my stance is the pervasive influence of pollution, which enormously affects public health. For instance, it has been proven by numerous extensive research that individuals who live in regions with low ecological contamination and abundant vegetation have far better heath than people living in industrial and highly polluted areas. This phenomenon underscores the notion that environmental pollution is inseparably linked to people’s wellbeing and the levels of diseases in the region. Consequently, to dismiss the significance of efforts in reducing ecological contaminations would be to overlook the national health.

Furthermore, the argument supporting the idea that governments should undertake efforts to prevent health disorders and serious illnesses cannot be fully appreciated without the aspect of housing problems. It is evident that housing issues can cause severe stress and affect the standarts of living, which are considered vital when assessing the main contributors to chronic illnesses and mental disorders. This perspective suggests that housing aspects is the primary problem for governmental institutions to resolve if they want to prevent serious health problems in their countries. Therefore, any discourse regarding the efficiency of the proposed strategy that fails to address housing issues is inherently wrong.

Admittedly, proponents of the opposing viewpoint highlight that the aforementioned reasons are in no way connected with epidemiological conditions and people’s wellbeing in general. However, this perspective either tends to overlook real life examples or fails to account for strong evidence.

In conclusion, the preponderance of evidence suggests that if governments seek to prevent illness and disease, they must first and foremost direct their attention and efforts toward the environmental situation and problems with housing in their countries.