Task 2:Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of overeating is opened for debate a lot today. An army of people persit in the idea that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. Based on my experiences and observations, I partly agree. In the following paragraph I will give some reasons to suport my answer.

First and foremost, It is undeniable that overeating has many detrimental effects. Excessive consumption of food, especially fast food, leads to various health problems such as obesity, high blood pressure or heart attacks. In recent years, the number of obese people has dramatically increased, which puts heavy pressure on the healthcare system. People who have the habit of eating too much could face financial problems. These people have to spend a relatively large amount of money per month on food, which can lead them to serious debt in the long run if they do not manage their budget well.

On the other side, there is no doubt that the advertising of certain food products should not be banned. A ban on certain food products means that thousands of people could have to face unemployment. High unemployment could put heavy pressure on social welfare and lead to other social problems such as poverty or crime. Another reason why the advertising of certain food products should not be banned is that people should have the right to choose whatever they want to buy. • If the government imposed a ban on burgers, for example, burger lovers could feel that their rights were violated.

By way of conclusion, it is evident that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. But in my opinion, advertising of some food products should not be banned.