Task 2:Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is observed that excessive eating is equally detrimental to smoking. Therefore, advertisements of some particular food products should be prohibited, similarly to cigarette advertisements in some nations. From my perspective, I would contend that food commercials should not be banned in the same way as smoking.

Some people advocate the idea of banning certain food advertisements similar to smoking. The first compelling reason is the health issue caused by unhealthy food high in sugar and fat. High-calorie foods contribute to rising rates of obesity, cardiovascular diseases or diabetes, which are comparable in severity to the diseases caused by smoking, including lung cancer, asthma and respiratory problems. Additionally, advertising of food disproportionately influences children who are easily attracted to appealing visuals. Just as tobacco advertising once targeted youth to build lifelong smokers, food companies often use colorful packaging, cartoon characters and vibrant commercials to attract young consumers. Therefore, banning these advertisements could help protect the younger generation from unhealthy eating patterns early in life.

However, the notion that it is advisable to ban food advertisements like to ban cigarette commercials may have some flaws. Firstly, unlike smoking, which is universally harmful and has no nutritional value, despite some negative impacts on the health of certain foods, they still provide an amount of nutrients. In addition, overeating primarily has an adverse bearing on consumers, while using cigarettes poses significant dangers not only to smokers, but also to non-smokers through secondhand smoke exposure. For example, almost all public service areas, especially hospitals and schools, completely ban smoking in order to keep children, pregnant women, and others avoiding potential respiratory and asthma issues. This is a testament to why food commercials do not need to be limited in the same way as tobacco advertisements.

In conclusion, food advertising should face the same stringent bans imposed on cigarette advertising in view to ensuring overall well-being of publicity and reducing children’s potential exposure to unhealthy food. Nonetheless, prohibiting them is rationally unreasonable, since food products still bring nutritional value and do not harm others.