The best way to learn a culture is to learn its language. Do you agree or disagree?

The concept of learning languages by immersing in cultures has long been a contentious issue. While there are considerable drawbacks lie in it, I firmly believe that the benefits of this idea far outweigh its negative aspects.

To begin with, learning languages with the help of cultural exposure could facilitate builiding a practically solid foundation of the language knowledge. The innate nature of languages serves as a tool for communication, which is crucial for cultural development. In this way, exploring the targeted culture could help learners to grasp the elementary principles and practical logic behind those superfacial words or phrases, which might benefit language learning as a whole. For instance, Chinese students who study at British universities for three to four years often perform more excellently in English level than those students who major in English language at domestic universities. The cause of such difference lies in the navigation of the cultural environment.

However, some people may advocate for vocabulary memorizing and grammar study, asserting that these methods are the quickest ways to acquire a language. But this idea often neglects languages’ unique features – – ever-evolving and being twisted with life experience. It’s undeniable that vocabulary and grammar can offer access for learners to know some clips of certain languages, though it’s not inclusive and flexible.

In conclusion, spending time exploring the cultural background of languages in the optimal way for learners to get a deep and complete view of languages, and it could lay the groundwork for learners’ mastering of the linguistic tool.