The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

Population can be seen as both boon and bane. Post World War II, the world population has rapidly grown. This, as some say, is the greatest threat to humanity.

The significant increase in population post 1950s can be attributed to many reasons. With the advancement in technology, many sectors faced changes. One significant improvement is observed in healthcare. With the invention of penicillin, vaccines and many other drugs, the life expectancy rate, the birth rate, and others have seen a rise. Whereas, infant mortality rate, and death rate has significantly dropped. With the drop in these death rates, and increase in the birth rates, the population has grown.

Population growth has its consequences. With the rise in human numbers, the resources, especially the natural ones, which are already in depletion mode, are going to be used up more quickly, leading to their decline faster than expected. Employment is an issue where the job opportunities are less and people who are competing for it are more. There is a need for rapid development in technology and facilities, mainly infrastructural ones so as to accommodate the growing population. More healthcare facilities and educational facilities must be set up.

I personally have the opinion that population growth can be seen as a good thing. With an increase in the working population, there can be a rise in not only the economy but development as it motivates us to find better alternatives quickly.

Population growth is subjective to one’s perspective. It is a boon if we try to mitigate the negative consequences and give scope for the positive consequences to flourish.