The crime rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many countries. Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggest solutions.

There has been a significant increase in crime cases within teenagers in multiple countries. Having a lack of control from parents and the willingness to get easy money lead to adolescents committing a crime. It is my opinion that both family members and the government are responsible for tackling this problem.

To begin with, parents often do not pay enough attention to the life of their child. They either don’t have time for that due to long working hours or they are just misled by a child lying to them. In fact, the latter is a very common situation when a teenager does not have a close and trustworthy relationship with parents. As a result, a mother and a father do not fully understand how their child spends free time, so that they do not have any control over his actions. In order to prevent a teenager from violating a law, parents should carefully monitor the life of their offspring. For instance, they can initiate a conversation about the possible ramifications of engaging in a criminal activity. By that, they would most likely discourage the child from breaking the law, as he would feel that he is under the control of parents.

Moving on, another reason for the increased crime rate is related to the poor quality of life among teenagers. Indeed, some adolescents come from impoverished families where the parents cannot satisfy the basic needs of their child: education, healthcare, psychological help, etc. Thus, such young people become more inclined to committing a crime to get at least some funds for their living. For example, the country with the highest teeanagers’ crime rate, South Africa, is also one of the 5 poorest countries in the world. If the government wants this issue to be solved, then it should provide additional money to destitute families, or decrease the level of taxation for such. Then, families that live on the breadline will have more money for funding the basic necessities of children. Adolescents, therefore, would be less likely to engage in crime, as they will get the money from parents. Additionally, since children would get better education, they would also realize more about the risks of crime activity and the negative repercussions associated with it.

To conclude, the primary reasons for teenagers commiting a crime come from the absence of control from family and the need to find money for surviving. While parents should focus more on guiding a child, the government may help poor families by providing financial support. It is my view that the problem of increased crime rate among teenagers can be mitigated if both parents and government cooperate together.